Living intentionally: The deep wilderness and “7” by Jen Hatmaker

Living intentionally: What 4 days in the Wilderness and “7” by Jen Hatmaker have brought out in me:

IMG_9086

So, I recently chaperoned (49) 8th graders in the Ancient Forest (Opal Creek Ancient Forest Center).    We had to hike 3 miles to get in (to the ancient forest), took no showers for 4 days, and had absolutely NO access to wifi, cell, landline phones or internet.   There is a lot more, of course, but to sum it up: it was a great trip.  Living in this way for 4 days gave me LOTS of room to read, think and process.

and…

I intentionally took the book “7: an experimental mutiny against excess by Jen Hatmaker.

Well, that sure got me to thinking…if you haven’t read it, you SHOULD. It is funny, personal, thought provoking…honest, and again, FUNNY!

These two together is a thought provoking combo…I knew it would be…but didn’t know my response or what I would be moved to change in my own life.  Well. I. need. to. change. a. lot.

But, I need to take it in “bite-sized” pieces.  I want it ALL to change NOW…but that’s just not happenin’ as I drag others (the three, a husband and a dog) along with me!

So, for MYSELF, I am going to re-join the blogging world after a summer and early fall hiatus and work through the lessons I have learned…not JUST from 4 days in the wilderness and a book, but that things that have been percolating in this little mind of mine for quite some time.

So, this is going to be a blog series…I guess.  If you care 🙂

Leave a Reply

