Thankful 2014

Painted sky

Painted sky

Just wanted to say I have so many things to be thankful for.

I am so thankful for intellect. There are so many things to discover, and I just love the process of learning new things; in parenting, personally, historically, academically, practically, spiritually.

Thankful for sunrises and sunsets. I will never grow tired of them. I appreciate the opportunity to pause and breathe. And Creation. I saw 8 deer with the kids the other morning. We were all awestruck and just stopped the car and watched. I love those moments.

Thankful for my age. Yep. The perspective it gives. For the years I have had.

So very thankful for people. Recently, I have had the chance to see several close friends who have had a major impact on my life, and whom I rarely get to see. Four friends from out of town, randomly calling me up with a days notice or less…this MONTH. Warmed my heart. I cherish those times to reconnect.

Thankful for the two, separate people who reached out recently and messaged me–perhaps the nicest messages I have ever read. Grateful.

And so thankful for the friends who make time to listen when I need it. For those who must exercise patience with me, and love me anyway. So grateful. And thankful for those daily, weekly and monthly people in my life who just make the world a better place. You know who you are. All of you. You are all so very special.

Oh, my little family of 5 of us. The lessons we learn from each other, the fun we have, the memories…and the refining ground of the ‘real stuff’ that makes us better people. Grateful.

For smiles. Thankful for those who lavish them abundantly on others. Grateful for the opportunity to catch eye contact and share a moment with others via the wonderful and simple smile.

Thankful for God, and His plans, His grace, wisdom, peace and the hope in Him in a world that can quickly become overwhelming. Thankful for His story in the midst of a broken world. For the beauty of the light shining through the cracks, and struggles, and brokeness of our lives. For light that shines in the darkness.

So many things to be thankful for.  This is just the beginning. Happy Thanksgiving, friends. Much love to each of you.

2 thoughts on “Thankful 2014

  1. Well said! So thankful for your beautiful sharing, Rachel! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your whole family. Please hug your parents for me. God is so good and gentle and kind to us all. So thankful my kids are all home safely for the holiday weekend of giving thanks to God. Blessings in Christ to you and big hugs and love from far off Orcas, Lisa

Leave a Reply

